Skip to content

Day #1

April 7, 2012

WoW! This is a first for me. The first day on the blog and all I can do is sit here in wonderment.  I have so much to say, but it will have to wait for future posts.

This blog is for you, the reader, your family members, and your friends. Please share the information here. My goal is to help you learn how to have more collaborative conversations with your aging parents about the life-changing events they will face as they age and the sometimes scary prospect of end-of-life preparation. Please ask me questions.

I will post on Sundays and Wednesdays with snippets of information in each post. All of us have busy lives and multiple things to do in our free time so in an endeavor to keep the posts short I’ll usually only touch on one topic at a time.  Conversations with family members can be difficult. Tread lightly and take baby steps. Please leave comments.

You can expect to find information here about aging issues, advocacy, building relationships, caretaking, developmental needs, emergencies,  end-of-life planning, finances, health care,  housing, respite, and safety, There are entire books written on each of these subjects, but I’ll try to give you the basics then link you with connections on where you can find more information. Please be interactive on this blog.

My background in home health and private duty nursing has shown me many families who have lacked information on how to proceed with love, respect, and dignity through the muddy waters of aging, Alzheimers, chronic illness, and dementia. Let’s work together to explore the information available so you can avoid the same mistakes.

Until next time…

All my best,

Laura

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2012 2:44 pm

    We have something in common since I am involved in caring for my Mom who is 82 and has Parkinson’s Disease. Your choice of topics is very timely for me. I will be visiting often to see what ideas you have that might pertain to my situation. Thank you for reaching out through this blog… and thank you for commenting on mine.

    • April 28, 2012 3:30 pm

      Caring for an elderly parent is hard and can go unrewarded or unrecognized from the rest of the family. Be sure to take time away from caregiving to have “You” time. Your writing, poetry, photography and art are all things you do for yourself, but be sure to get away from the house at times too. As much as you love your mother you also need to have a social life with other people and so does she or else unhealthy and hermetic situations occur.

      Thanks for posting on the blog. I hope my ongoing suggestions will be helpful for you.

  2. December 10, 2013 2:15 pm

    Thank you for this wonderful and informative post! I thought I would share a quick book that talks about not only being a caregiver, but being the one going through the trail of aging… “Rich in Years” by Johann Christoph Arnold http://www.richinyears.com. What I loved most about the book is that you were able to see both sides of the story. It really helped me understand my aging mother better, and to consider her feelings before doing anything. I definitely agree that it takes a lot of patience, which is why I love that you point out that “Me” time is extremely important!

    • December 10, 2013 6:10 pm

      Thanks for your comment. Yes, the book “Rich in Years” is eye-opening for many people and is one of the reasons I started writing this blog and the book to come. Caregiving is never easy, but can be so rewarding as long as one puts aside their own ego and “rules” and allows things to unfold a little at a time. Have a great evening. I hope you’ll visit the blog often.

  3. December 12, 2013 12:46 pm

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

